Aadarsh, really?

No, I do not consider myself to be an ‘Aadarsh Naari’. But, considering the fact that I have tried (and mostly failed) for three decades to become one, I thought it was apt that I name my blog this. After all, each one of us aspires to become perfect – the perfect wife, the perfect bahu (Daughter-in-Law), the perfect mother, the perfect employee, the perfect thousand and one other roles that we play each day!

Perfection slowly takes over our lives. Did I proofread the report before emailing? Did I warm the baby’s milk enough? Oh wait, hope I din’t warm it too much? Does my cooking provide us all the needed nutrition? Should I ditch ghee and switch over to olive oil (or the latest fad of Canola oil)? Should I vacuum again to avoid asthma problems?

Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering.
There is a crack in everything,
That’s how the light gets in.

~Leonard Cohen

This blog is a celebration of my not-so-perfect yet immensely fulfilling life. The girl who failed to be an aadarsh naari, did not obtain 99.xxx % in her boards, did not become a doctor / engineer, did not choose a traditional career, did not marry the traditional way, is not the traditional indian wife / bahu.

Do you too seek perfection amongst your imperfections? Come, lets celebrate our perfect flaws, together, and ponder over the flaws in the oh-so perfect society!

Leave a Reply

